Parliament House Canberra Australia
Parliament House Canberra Australia

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and Queensland Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services Mark Ryan today announced disaster assistance in response to the far north Queensland trough that caused flooding in seven local government areas between 21 and 28 March 2017.

Minister Keenan said the assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA) to the local government areas of Aurukun, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Napranum, Pormpuraaw, Northern Peninsula and Torres.

“This assistance will aid in the rebuilding and replacement of damaged public infrastructure, such as roads and bridges, as well as to help councils with their clean-up bill,” Mr Keenan said.

Minister Ryan said the assistance will also assist councils to remove debris from residential properties to make them safe and habitable following the flooding.

“Natural disasters can have a significant cost to local councils. This assistance will make sure affected communities have the support they need to help them clean-up and rebuild,” said Mr Ryan.

Information on the disaster assistance that is available for this natural disaster can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist and Queensland Government’s Disaster management websites.


Minister for Justice
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter Terrorism
The Hon Michael Keenan MP

Queensland Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services
Queensland Minister for Corrective Services
The Hon Mark Ryan MP

Hits: 77